The Magnetic Fields' '69 Love Songs' Coming on 6×10" Vinyl Box Set

Posted by on May 20, 2009 | Comments (1)

Well, it only took them ten years, but we take such news when we can get it!

The Magnetic Fields’ brilliant song cycle 69 Love Songs is finally seeing a vinyl release. Spread across six 10″ records, each in a separate gatefold sleeve, the set will be bound with a cardboard slipcover and a large version of the CD version booklet. It should be out sometime in August April 20, 2010, it’s apparently limited to 3,000 copies, and it’ll cost about $100.

I’ve had a running list of albums that should be on vinyl going for quite some time, and 69 Love Songs has been right up near the top since its release ten years ago. Most record companies in 1999 didn’t see any benefit to releasing vinyl, although Merge Records has always been great about LPs—they even pioneered the LP+mp3 download coupon idea, which I covered pretty extensively here last year. Now if they could just release Crooked Fingers’ Red Devil Dawn on vinyl, we’d be set!

There’s a whole lotta other dream albums out there that would be released on vinyl if there were any sense of justice in the world. Here’s a few from the ongoing wish list. Feel free to add your own suggestions in the comments below.

Please, Record Industry: Put These Albums Out on Vinyl!

Lucinda Williams – Car Wheels on a Gravel Road


The Boredoms – Seadrum / House of Sun


Los Lobos – Colossal Head


K’naan – The Dusty Foot Philosopher


John Prine – In Spite of Ourselves


James Carter – Chasin’ the Gypsy


Gillian Welch – Time (the Revelator)


The Velvet Teen – Out of the Fierce Parade


Uncle Tupelo – Anodyne


Smoking Popes – Born to Quit


Arvo Pärt – Alina


Steve Earle – Transcendental Blues


Camille – Le Fil


Nellie McKay – Get Away From Me


The Rentals – Seven More Minutes


Don Byron – Ivey Divey


Greg Brown – Over and Under


Bebo & Cigala – Lagrimas Negras


Old 97’s – Too Far to Care


Wynton Marsalis – Live at the House of Tribes


Robert Earl Keen – Gravitational Forces


Knife in the Water – Soundtrack


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 Email  Print Share

1 comment

  1. Gerry
    May 21, 2009

    Anodyne may be the most likely on that list to happen next. Least likely? The Rentals.

    More to add (other than Red Devil Fucking Dawn):

    The Morphine Catalog, Sonic Youth: Sonic Death, Sex Mob: Solid Sender, Frank Black: Dog In The Sand, Patton Oswalt; Werewolves and Lollipops, Archers Of Loaf: Seconds Before The Accident, Petra Haden: Sings The Who Sell Out AND Imaginaryland, Kathy McCarthy: Dead Dog’s Eyeball, Macho Man Randy Savage: Be A Man,

    bunca more……..


Leave a Reply

All comments are sent for moderation before appearing here.